“Chicago has a strange metaphysical elegance of death about it.” Claes Oldenburg

I just got back from Chicago visiting the in-laws for thanksgiving. While i was there i did some fun tattoos. Here are some pictures of a handful of them for your viewing pleasure.

I did this ship on my artist friend Jason seiler. check him out at http://www.jasonseiler.com . He’ll blow your mind.

This blue whale is a little different than my usual way of doing things but it was a lot of fun and i like the end product, even the little orange krill. This is on Erica Davenport. I also tattooed her husband Josh Davenport but didn’t get a picture. He tipped me with an acoustic guitar, which is totally SICK. Check his music out at www.myspace.com/lassothesalt .

Trevor asked for a heart with a dagger through it and some arrows being deflected off it. And thats just what he received.

Brendan is Hawaiian. What’s more Hawaiian than a sea turtle? I had a lot of fun doing all those little single needle circles.

My southern brother Michael Shelby got this childhood memory. He had a little gash on his shin that i had to work around. I am sure that it didn’t feel too hot. We had fun though.

My wife’s brother Drew got these castle doors. It was a strange thing to design but i was pretty into how it turned out. It’s hard to tell in the picture but i did some stippling in the hinges and handles which gave it kind of a hammered out look.

Robert Goodwin is a great friend of mine. we’ve been through a lot and hanging out with him is always a highlight of my trips to chicago. He got all three of these tattoos and we had a blast doing them. He sat like a champ for his knee cap, didn’t make a sound or budge an inch. Check out his infamous band Headnoise at www.myspace.com/headnoise .


And last but not least, rich troche, my wife andrea and myself got these awesome TCB stick and poke friendship tattoos. Oh the memories.

3 Responses to ““Chicago has a strange metaphysical elegance of death about it.” Claes Oldenburg”

  1. finally some updates!

    – pal, jaime

  2. TCB for life!!! Dude those pics came out awesome and i have to say the pictures don’t do your work justice. All these tats are sweet! You should come back to Chicago soon!!!

  3. My spouse and i need to say, for the duration of your look via plenty of weblogs each and every week, the real topic of your respective website is distinguishable (for the appropriate factors). Except if you mind me individually requesting, which is the model on this idea and could it be the innovative extramarital relationship? It genuinely is much better than the particular themes I take benefit of for most of my weblogs 😉

Leave a Reply

