“A pipe is the fountain of contemplation, the source of pleasure, the companion of the wise; and the man who smokes, thinks like a philosopher and acts like a Samaritan.” -Edward George Bulwer-Lytton

The very first time i walked in to a tobacco store to buy some tobacco for a pipe a purchased at an antique mall i saw a pipe. I walked up and down the glass case looking at all the nice new pipes but one just demanded my attention. I told myself that i would one day get that pipe. then i found out it cost 300 dollars and said “nevermind”. At that time i would never have dreamt of paying that much for a pipe. About a year later i sold a guitar to pay for a portion of that pipe. It is to this day one of my favorites and smokes amazing. It is a full bent rusticated Caminetto. i have always wanted to purchase more but i rarely have spare money to spend on nice pipes. Its far easier for me to justify to my wife spending the money on a nice tattoo machine because its going to make me money. But a pipe is harder to justify. BUT! A regular ritual for me on my holiday visits to Chicago ha been a visit to Iwan Reis, The oldest family owned and operated tobacconist in america (recently celebrating their 150 year). Well this year they happen to have some estate pipes out and i of course noticed a lovely light colored rusticated bent apple Caminetto. The salesman saw it in my eyes. He knew i wanted it and worked me good. In the end i couldn’t resist it and let me tell you, zero regrets. it smokes as smooth as my other one and has made itself a regular in my pipe case.

Here is a little history for you. Caminetto pipes have a rich history, starting in 1959. Caminetto pipes were carved by two main carvers: Guiseppe Ascorti (Peppino) and Luigi Radice, while Gianni Davoli was the first to agree to market their pipes. Through the ’60s and early ‘70s, these pipes were in high demand, and were contracted with both European and American distributers. During the mid to late ‘70s, the demand for these pipes skyrocketed, and pushed the small factory to its limits. The trio that had come to be known as Caminetto disbanded in 1979. Ascorti and Radice went on to make each their own line of pipes. Ascorti passed away in 1984, or early 1985, I’m not exactly sure which. The current production Caminetto pipes are made by Peppino Ascorti’s son, Roberto.

I am now the proud owner of these two Caminetto pipes.

Leave a Reply

